Ok, there is such a game as football

You may have noticed that after an initial burst at the beginning of the season, I have been completely silent about the football results for the last few weeks.

That�s because the mighty Roos haven�t been so mighty for the last month. In fact, they lost four games in a row including one that they really, really should have won.

Now, I am no fair-weather football supporter. I support the Roos come rain or come shine, as I have my entire life. It�s just that when they�re loosing � especially when they�re loosing badly � I prefer not to talk about it. Or read about it. Or hear anything about it.

When they win I listen to all the post-match post-mortems, I read all the papers, I watch Talking Footy and On the Couch.

When they loose I pretend the game doesn�t exist.

Fortunately most of my friends � Nathan, Wino, Alex, Mary, Maria � support Collingwood, so while they would usually be rubbing it in my face that my team was in a slump, their team is doing even worse so they don�t want to talk about it either. Monday morning email discussions between Nathan and I have consisted of �football, what football?� and a quick move on to hockey and English football results for a month now.

But this morning I have again returned to reading the papers, and tonight I�ll be turning the TV over the footy channel without hesitation, thanks to a fabulous 92 point victory yesterday.

Of course I was in the football wasteland that is Brisbane for the weekend, so I didn�t get to see any of the game even though I did manage to find a radio broadcast yesterday afternoon while we were all nursing our post-wedding, pre-post-wedding-drinks hang overs. Mind you, that�s what 24 football channels are for. Replays.

I cannot wait to watch the 10 goal to 1 point 3rd quarter in particular. Go Roos.

In other news, had a great time at my cousin�s wedding. The whole weekend was really good fun actually. Stunningly beautiful weather and catching up with Boofhead and our cousins. Much eating, drinking and taking of photos ensued. As did lots of rejoicing that we only come from a small family as opposed to the massive extended Greek one of the bride. Our section of the church may have looked pretty empty, but at least it was relatively stress-free.

And my flights in both directions were actually early. That�s right, early.

I also came home to find that my package from Amazon including Gilmore Girls, West Wing and Sex and the City DVDs has been shipped.

All in all a great weekend. Now I�m just waiting to get my washing machine back from the repairman, and for the insurance assessor to come over tomorrow. Fingers crossed that that goes well � I�m feeling armless without my computer.

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 12:54 p.m.
17 May 2004
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004