Not at Home!

Brief randomness today.

First, would the person in the apartment building next to my office (a) answer the phone; (b) get an answering machine; or (c) turn the volume of the ringer down. And while they�re at that, could they please tell their friend, colleague or tele-marketer that if they don�t answer the phone after a dozen rings four or five times in a row it means they�re not at home!

* * *

That little rant out of the way, time for a rave. Asparagus. Never liked it as a kid, and therefore never really paid much attention to it as an adult until recently. Of course, it didn�t take me long to figure out why I didn�t like it as a kid. It was not something that was served too often in our household, but when it was served, it came limp and almost colourless out of a can.

No wonder I didn�t like it. Especially as it was also often served as an appetiser rolled in a piece of white bread with the crust cut off. Yum. Not.

But fresh asparagus is fantastic. Lightly steamed, bright and healthy green, thrown in with pasta, or as a side with fish. Or my favourite way, with a tiny drizzle of olive oil and shavings of parmesan cheese.

Definitely one of my new favourite things. Especially as it costs about $1.50 for a large bunch and can be steamed in about five minutes flat.

* * *

Started my Christmas shopping today.

Now, yes, I did start with the easy stuff first. Stocking up on green tea candles and magnolia soaps and the like for the girls in the office and the other token gifts for random family members, etc. But I also picked up Jane�s present, having got her in our newly instituted Kris Kringle between friends. I wasn�t really even looking for hers yet, but came across it. Something that she won�t have, will like and can use, and within the allotted budget. Can�t do better than that.

Of course, now that the easy stuff is done, the harder stuff begins. Particularly Dad, Boofhead and Mary.

Ah well, I can live on the satisfaction of having started the shopping for at least a few days before I actually have to do any more.

* * *

I am having a good hair day. Which is more than balanced out by having a bad sinus day.

* * *

And finally, they�re not at home! Stop calling every 90 fucking seconds!

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 1:15 p.m.
06 December 2004
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004