The return of the TV-obsessed geek

Interestingly, on the day when I sent my digital cable box back to Foxtel having chosen not to continue my subscription, I have my first too-many-choices what to watch? dilemma in recent memory.

My new obsession The OC verses new CSI on the box, combined with the arrival of my Alias season 3 DVDs from amazon this morning, and the pending arrival of disc 2 of the Firefly DVDs in the mail at home. On top of all of that my ADSL should be hooked up by the time I get home�

I missed the first few eps of The OC due to a lack of reception on the relevant channel at my old house, but as soon as I started watching, I was hooked. But then again, I�ve always been a sucker for a soap with a genuine sense of humour.

So it�s likely to win out over CSI, even a new one � another show I�ve only caught periodically over the years due to reception issues � although I note that as of next week they�re moving The OC to Monday nights as 9.30 � ie up against what will be the final run of Sex and the City starting imminently. Another dilemma, though I suspect I�ll wait for the DVDs and watch SATC as intended, without the ad breaks.

As for Alias, I know it�s a weak season, but I�ve only seen a couple of eps, and not the good ones (and I have been assured that there are at least a couple of good ones). And, more importantly, I�m not sure I can wait to watch the bloopers, or listen to Regina�s commentary on the first ep, which is one of the few I have seen.

And then there�s Firefly. I�m not sure if it ever made it to air here, but if it did it wasn�t on a channel I could see. But being a fan of Whedon�s other series, I decided to Aussie-knock-off-of-Netflix it. Watching the first three eps back to back had me wishing for the rest of the series to arrive immediately, lamenting that it got cancelled so soon, and hanging out of the movie.

So what with all of that and last night�s Six Feet Under on tape, what�s a geeky television junkie to do?

Have a very late night, I guess.

And lament the fact that it only took me a couple of weeks to get suckered back into scheduling life around TV shows � something I�d managed to ween myself off in the repeated several times a day world of cable.

But that�s okay � I live alone now, I can keep my secret TV affairs secret (though I note that several years of sharing a house have rubbed off on Betty as well, who has quickly also become an OC-lover).

Unless, of course, I choose to share them with the public�

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 12:47 p.m.
07 September 2004
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004