Fashion Watch - The Tonys Edition

Time for a new fashion watch entry, this time the combined glory, or otherwise, of the Tonys and the CFDA Awards.

Beginning with Sarah Jessica Parker, who definitely is going through a ballet phase with very mixed results. Tonys: yes, CFDAs: Noooo. And what�s with all the shiny face?

After a run of great outfits, both Renee Zellweger and Nicole Kidman continued with their more recent run of totally boring at the Tonys. Well, in Nicole�s case I don�t think the dress is boring per se, but its boring on her because it reminds me of several other things I�ve seen her in.

For more cases of boring at the same event see Audra McDonald and Sigourney Weaver, who looks like she went back into her wardrobe from the eighties.

Edie Falco: nice dress, very odd hair. Anna Paquin: very uncomfortable with the whole thing, and along with Carla Gugino somewhat under dressed.

The dresses I liked best were the ones with a bit a colour, particularly Anne Heche and Kristen Chenowith.

Overall I don�t think it was too bad across the board, though the CFDA Award seem to be responsible for a bit more creativity and therefore room for disaster.

For instance, Selma Blair, who I think has improved quite a lot recently, took a giant leap backwards. And could Martha Stewart look any more ridiculous or uncomfortable?

Rahda Mitchell looks like an emaciated cylinder, even though I think it�s a nice dress � just not on her.

Natalie Portman looks like she�s having fun, and therefore the dress works.

I wasn�t sure if this colour worked on Scarlett Johansson, but it�s definitely a winner on Beyonce.

On the classic and classy front both Kristin Davis and Mandy Moore are complete winners.

Special bonus MTV Movie Awards Wha? to Scarlett Johansson.

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 1:39 p.m.
08 June 2004
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004