Random Thoughts

Random thoughts only today.

It seems wrong that I spent St Patrick�s Day night at a professional development seminar followed by drinking bloody marys at home in front of the TV. Mind you, given how sick I have been known to make myself on mid-week St Paddy�s Days, maybe it was a good thing.

* * *

Is it possible for me to sit in one of those student chairs with the half-desk that folds down across you without spilling my coffee by bumping the desk? Three recent professional development seminars would seem to indicate that the answer is no. And at last night�s I was wearing a white jacket�

* * *

Yesterday I bought 4 DVDs and 3 books despite the fact that I�m not meant to be spending money because: (a) I have not yet finished paying Mr American Express for my last trip; and (b) I am meant to be buying a house this year. But books and DVDs seem so small both in size and relative cost compared to, say, shoes I could be buying.

The problem with the books in particular is that yesterday�s purchases meant that I had to start a third stack in the books I�m currently reading or am about to read pile by my bed.

Of the list back in December I have now completed 6 books. Plus another dozen or more than I bought subsequent to making the list. All the rest of the list is still in the pile, together with a couple I bought while I was away and the half dozen or so bought since I got back. Thus the third stack.

And of course there�s no room on my shelves for the books to go when I finish them, so no doubt there will soon be a fourth stack.

The lesson being that I really have to stock buying books until: (a) I have read everything currently in the pile; or (b) I buy a house where they�ll all fit; whichever comes sooner.

* * *

You would think that given my generally good and healthy eating patterns this year that I would prepare for the weekend�s inevitable (and looked forward to) gorging on food and drink by having a few light and healthy meals. Unfortunately no. While I write this I�m on my lunch hour and eating both a mayo-heavy tuna salad roll, and a large bag of hot chips. And I�m on my third diet coke for the day, when I�ve been successfully down to one a day all year up until this week.

* * *

When I went on my DVD ordering binge I checked around first to make sure none of what I ordered was coming out in Australia any time soon because when they do finally arrive they�re generally much cheaper here. Nothing I ordered appeared on the coming soon lists, so away I went. Then I went into the DVD store yesterday to discover than season 1 of Northern Exposure had just been released here for less than half the price I�d ordered it for. Needless to say I snapped it up and went straight home to cancel my Amazon order.

Except to say that yes, I have drunk an entire bottle of wine. And yes, as I�ve moved on to watching Conan, my neighbours have started having sex again, though I�m not sure it�s not a different woman because while the degree of noise is the same, the tone seems markedly different. To put it bluntly, shut the fuck up!

* * *

Edited to add. I�m currently watching Leno. Jessica Simpson on Leno. What the hell is up with her mouth? Surely she�s only in her very early twenties. She clearly isn�t old enough to appreciate the 80�s pop cultural importance of �Take My Breath Away�, so she surely isn�t old enough to have had sufficient plastic surgery to make her mouth look like that.

She�s also wearing way too much bronzer, which appears to have become an increasingly disturbing trend. Yes, J.Lo, I�m looking at you.

On a side note I also love the fact that Leno�s three night Jersey Girl combination of Affleck, Smith and Carlin have all essentially added up to one big J.Lo bashing joke. Kevin Smith�s comment that they wanted to put the fact that she dies ten minutes into the movie on the poster was particularly classic.

And I only say that with some relish because I really thought Jennifer Lopez had potential. I love Out of Sight and I think she�s really good in it. And then she had to decide to be a pop star. Choose one or the other. No one, no one at all, has a successful career at both.

End edit.

Except to say that yes, I have drunk an entire bottle of wine. And yes, as I�ve moved on to watching Conan, my neighbours have started having sex again, though I�m not sure it�s not a different woman because while the degree of noise is the same, the tone seems markedly different. To put it bluntly, shut the fuck up!

* * *

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 1:38 p.m.
18 March 2004
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004