The Art of Getting Away

It appears that I do have time for one final entry before taking off on holiday (though if that�s the case between writing this sentence and reaching the end of entry remains to be seen).

The fact that I have the time is somewhat remarkable given how nuts this week has been, particularly Tuesday and Wednesday. And not because urgent work lobbed on to my desk, either, though some did.

For recent trips, after many instances of complete mania before going on leave, I have endeavoured to have very little left to do on my last day in the office, simply because something urgent always comes up and if you don�t have room for it then you�re working and stressed until well into the night. And when I�m being collected for the airport at 9 in the morning and have packed not so much as a single item, that�s not really what I want from my last evening at home.

So when the new trainee came in this morning asking for the next lot of work I pointed her directly to the Boss, because my work is all under control, just waiting for that last minute crisis.

As I said, despite the hard work to get into that position, it wasn�t strictly work that had me running around most of Tuesday and Wednesday getting alternatively very frustrated and thrilled.

It was work-related though. It started on Monday afternoon, with the Boss saying �I have a surprise for you�. My biggest client has decided to contemplate undertaking a large project in Fiji. And they would like me to change part of my trip in order to meet them in Fiji for a few meetings.

Even by the end of Monday I didn�t actually think it would happen. The dates wouldn�t line up, they were only half serious, I wouldn�t be able to change my super-discount ticket.

By Tuesday, when they rang me to coordinate dates and book internal flights, I knew it was highly likely to happen. Which brought on the stress of trying to change my special fare ticket. I genuinely thought it would be impossible. And I hated asking for the change because the ticket had been organised for me at a really special rate and with no small effort. So I sucked it up and called. And waited five hours for my �travel agent� to get out of meeting and return my call. I apologised, asked, and apologised again. Three times. And waited with baited breath for an answer. For only about 45 minutes in the end. The ticket was changed with no problem, leaving LA at almost the same time as before, with only a $75.00 fee.

Which of course set off a whole new need for running around. Going into the airline office to get the ticket endorsed. Liaising with the client about internal flights, meeting schedules and accommodation (still don�t know where we�re staying).

But all in all this should be a relatively pleasurable task. Work is sending me to Fiji. Who�s to argue?

Not me. Unless, of course, our email system crashes at the same time. For 24 hours we can send email, but can�t receive it. This would be a problem on a normal work day, but when I am also trying to organise tickets, car rentals and accommodation, it�s completely maddening.

It also necessitated three calls to the help desk and waiting on hold for upwards to 40 minutes. I was gratified to discover in the end that the problem was at the ISP end � they�d sent some incorrect passwords and settings for our new accounts � and not caused by me.

Of course, once the email was up and running again there was 24 hours worth to process. Joy.

But once all that was said and done, I reached today with a relatively clear desk and enough time to schedule the payment of my gas and phone bills which arrived with charming timing last night.

So now all that�s left to do is finish out the day and go home and pack for casual winter in LA (warmer than summer here over the last couple of days), and work wear for the end of monsoon season in Fiji. So much for uncomplicated packing. I might just buy the Fiji clothes in LA to solve that problem. �Cause it�s not like I won�t be shopping there anyway.

Though of course, in the time it�s taken my to write this, I�ve booked two meetings for this afternoon, and had one urgent piece of work arrive. Lucky I�d cleared my desk�

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 11:51 a.m.
12 February 2004
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004