General Ramblings

General Ramblings

Several potential topics have floated through my head over the past few days, but I haven't had time to really concentrate and put any of them down in detail.

These include musings on

- my summer wardrobe wish-list, Harper's Bazaar style, but with far less glamorous labels. Not that I couldn't come up with a list worthy of a model or socialite, I just couldn't actually buy any of those things, so it's better to keep the list at least relatively affordable.

- the fact that I recently discovered that I own 39 skirts. Well, 40 now, having purchased one skirt on the above wish-list, and still looking for another. (Ok, so its become 41 between first starting to write this and finishing it.) And aside from the formal one which is really a special occasion piece, almost all of them have been worn in the last year. This was startling even to me. But I do only own one dress. I like dresses to look at, and I'd love to be able to wear them, but there is just no style of dress that I have tried on to date that actually even remotely suits me. The one I do own is very nice when I'm at my perfect weight, and while it still fits me if I put a little on (like now), it doesn't look anywhere near as good.

- the way that Spring has now sprung where I live and we've had five straight days of warmth and/or sun which has totally thrown out my concept of time during the day. Even though its not daylight saving yet, its been so much brighter for so much longer in the afternoons that, like at this moment, it gets to 5 o'clock while I'm still under the impression that its about 2.30. This is both great and crappy, given how much work I have to do.

- in further weather-related musings, the weirdness of the amount of wind we��ve had this winter and now spring. It's been blowing a gale, literally, for weeks. Up until this past weekend each weekend for at least a month had been vicious and windy. This weekend was the break of spring, but still windy, and then each day this week it has been beautiful, if windy, up until about 6 or 7 each night and then the wind becomes stronger and the rain pours down, and by morning its great again. Weird.

- that I shouldn't be looking forward to the start of the new TV season in the States as much as I am because I don't actually live there and won't see any of the shows until somewhere between February next year and four years from now. But I am excited, partly because of Television Without Pity - which I would like to blame entirely for my desire to know what happens on my favourite shows way before I can actually see them, but can't, because without that pre-existing desire I probably would never have found the site in the first place. I justify reading the Alias and other recaps in two ways. One, even if I see the shows in their first run here, we're a good six months behind and I've forgotten all but the major plot points anyway. Two, I don��t actually have access to any network television so aside from a very few shows that get taped for me (this year's list was Buffy, Angel and The West Wing, with 24 watching as a social event), I don��t actually see anything until I import the DVD (Six Feet Under, Alias Season 2, coming in December), see it on Satellite reruns (Gilmore Girls), or happen to be in the States. Therefore I read television, rather than watch it, in several instances, and I'm entitled to look forward to some new reading material.

As to whether I will ever write at length about any of these things we'll have to wait and see. I am planning on taking a week off next month and playing like a proper writer by staying home and actually trying to finish my damn novel, so chances are there will be many procrastination-fuelled entries during that period and these topics may again come up.

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 5:32 p.m.
24 September 2003
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004