Bloggish

blog, the first

It�s now Friday night of �hell week� and I�m between pubs. Have been for a couple of beers with the workmates and returned to the office to make sure that nothing on the project which has been the focus of hell week has blown up � which, thankfully, it hasn�t � then heading out to dinner at another pub on the other side of town.

I have a little bit of time to kill.

Hell week is not so-named because I don�t like the project I�ve been working on. In fact I love the project. It�s just that we knew at the end of last week that we had to complete the final 80% of the project, something we�d usually do over three or four weeks, this week. So I knew it would be busy. And it was, and is.

But it was great for a hell week in that we got something signed or ticked-off every day, so it all felt like progress. Often with these things it all gets signed on the last day which is even more stressful.

So hell week has been good, so far as it goes, but I�m glad it�s over.

* * *

I have discovered these new Cadbury Crunchie bits. They look like large, oddly shaped rabbit droppings, but are

* * *

Trying really hard to resist buying the first six seasons of The X-Files on DVD at the severely reduced price of $74.95 each including tax. They�re available on pre-order at that price with free shipping for the sale that starts in about 6 weeks. I don�t think I�ll be able to resist for that long, but we�ll see�

Oh, and Boomer re-signed. Go Roos!

* * *

Trying the blog thing today, not because I have nothing to ramble on about, but rather not the time to ramble in the usual form.

I have decided that I am now officially an adult. And not because of the numbers in my age, but because it seems I have reached an age where a birthday is not such an important event that you get presents on the day, or even in any type of hurry afterwards. That, to me, reeks of adulthood.

It was my birthday two and a half weeks ago. On a Saturday, so there weren�t even any reasonable middle of the week, won�t see you until the weekend excuses. I got my first present a day after my birthday. I got my second present a week after my birthday. I got my third present two weeks and one day after my birthday. And that�s it for the presents aside from the instruction from Dad to go out and spend several hundred much appreciated dollars on clothes. Also, only one of the presents was wrapped.

This has to mean that I�m an adult because my friends and family are fairly confident that I won�t throw a tantrum if I don�t get heaps of presents on my special day. And I they were right. Except for writing this, of course. If the trend continues next year they may be wrong though.

I did get some cool presents though. A sizeable book voucher from Boofhead. You can never go wrong with a book voucher for me. Spent it within 2 days of receiving it. The coolest, gadgety-est food processor/blender/juicer combo from Mum, which even has a retractable cord and looks like a ship from Star Wars. Abovementioned not quite blank cheque from Dad. And Nathan, Smurfette, Betty, Jane and Maria all went in to get me the fantastic wine rack which holds 36 bottles � though as they point out, if I ever manage to fill it they�re all coming over to start drinking � and a couple of nice reds to start (well, add to) the collection.

All in all, pretty cool. If mature.

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 6:36 p.m.
12 September 2003
reading :
watching:
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004