Problem

Problem

I appear to have a problem.

It is the overuse of the phrase �no problem�.

I have found myself using this phrase in three emails and two conversations today alone. And that�s not taking into account the many times I have probably used it without noticing. I don�t know where or when or why my use of this phrase began.

I do know that I used to use the word �right� a lot. Usually at the end of sentences. I think I grew out of this the same time I battered my Californian accent - which also featured the frequent use and mis-pronunciation of the word �sure� - out of existence.

I now only fall back into those bad habits � including the accent � when I�m speaking to an American on the phone. Interestingly, I don�t fall back into the accent when I�m actually in California � only when I�m on the phone. Strange.

There was also a period of excessive use of the affirmation �absolutely�. But this was drilled out of me pretty quickly by the emergence of an ad campaign for a certain airline using the word as its tag. That said airline was both the mortal corporate enemy of the organisation which employs most of my family, and rapidly out of business, gave �absolutely� a whole new context.

�Right�, �sure�, �absolutely� and �no problem�. Hmmm. It could be worse I suppose. A Fland-esque �okely-dokely� or a Sex and the City �alrighty� coming immediately to mind.

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 9:19 a.m.
14 August 2003
reading : Reading: The Well of Lost Plots
watching: Waiting For: The West Wing Season 2, Part 2 on DVD from Amazon.co.uk
listening to:

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004