Name Them and They Will Come

Name Them and They Will Come�

�or some of them will anyway. A few days ago while still really just doing set up on this site I added a list of what I was reading, watching etc. Included on that list was what I was �waiting for�. The stuff that I�d ordered from Amazon or wherever that was either in transit or not quite released yet. I always have something in transit from some part of the globe. DVDs, books, shoes�

As of a couple of days ago I was waiting for SimCity 4 for Mac which was on pre-order with free shipping and was technically supposed to be released June 30. I was also waiting for a box from Amazon containing DVDs of the first two seasons of Homicide: Life on the Street and seasons two and four of Sex and the City.

Within mere hours of me putting the �waiting for� list on-line, my Amazon box lobbed onto my desk causing me to wonder whether putting the wish out there made it come true. Had SimCity also arrived I would have had no doubt, but alas I�m still waiting for that one and I note that the place I bought it from has pushed back the release date to July. No date in July, just July.

My creative writing professor back at uni was an advocate of envisaging what you wanted for your future, and writing it down, or drawing it, or creating a collage of it and sticking it above your desk so you could continue to visualise it, and then it would come true. Perhaps putting it in an online diary can have the same outcome?

Now I�m not one to go in for anything even vaguely new-age-y, and I might well be the least spiritual person on the planet, but I�m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth (though I do have to ask where the hell that saying came from? Something to do with if you were given a much needed horse as a present you don�t insult the present-giver by checking the horse�s teeth for signs of decay?), and this thing just might work.

So here goes�

before & after

who

About me

what, where

time: 2:37 p.m.
04 July 2003
reading : Reading: Trading Up (still)
watching: Watching: Homicide seasons 1 & 2 on DVD
listening to: Waiting For: SimCity 4 for Mac and winning the lottery!

fashion watch

fashion watch blog

comments

sign my guestbook

recent

The Big Move - 12 December 2004
Sshh! Don't Tell the Brain - 08 December 2004
Not at Home! - 06 December 2004
Meetings and Roasted Garlic - 03 December 2004
Running for my Wardrobe - 02 December 2004

time wasters

Television Without Pity
Damn Hell Ass Kings
net-a-porter
Calvin and Hobbes
Style.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

archives + contact + design + host

Copyright Uli 2003-2004